Copa Libertadores 2020 ( Palmeiras vs Santos )

Palmeiras 2nd Copa Libertadores title

The two Brazilians clubs met each other in the Copa Libertadores 2020 final. The final was hosted in Maracana Stadium, Brazil. Palmeiras has won won the total of 2 titles (1999, 2020). Meanwhile SantosFC has won 3 titles (1962,1932 and 2011). Last night Palmeiras with the last minute goal squashed the second title. The win of Copa Libertadores 2020 made the title reach of 2 times. Santos FC faced a very heart wrenching defeat against Palmeiras. The last second header from the substitute player Breno Henrique Vasconcelos Lopes decided the match. The injury time of 8 minutes was added to the game. In the 99th time, Breno Henrique Vasconcelos Lopes scored a magnificent header from just outside the small D box. Lopes strongly headed the long aerial cross passed nearly from the center.

Final- Copa Libertadores 2020

Santos FC Copa Libertadores history

The first Brazilian club to win Copa Libertadores final is Santos FC. Santos won the first title in 1962. One year later, in 1963 they again won it. Pele played the 1963 campaign. SantosFC is the joint Brazilian club with Sao Paolo and Gremio to win the titles for the maximum times. They have lost 2 finals in their history. They lost in 2003 against Boca Juniors and now against Palmeiras in Copa Libertadores 2020.

YearsWinnerRunner UpScore
1962Santos FCPenarol2-1
3-0 (tie braker)
1963Santos FC Boca Juniors3-2
2003Boca JuniorsSantosFC2-0
2011Santos FCPenarol0-0
2020PalmeirasSantos FC1-0
Years Of SantosFC as Copa Libertadores winners and runner up

This is the second time that SantosFC lost the final of Copa Libertadores. In the Copa Libertadores 2020 final they suffered against Palmeiras.

Palmeiras line up

Palmeiras lineup against Santos FC in Copa Libertadores 2020 final

SantosFC Lineup in Copa Libertdores 2020

Santos FC lineup against Palmeiras in Copa Libertadores 2020 final

By Saket_Bastola

I am a content writer for this website . I am watching and analysing football since 2010 and the passion towards it led me to write on the current affairs happening on the footballing world. I am writing and creating the contents since 2017.